Second Chances

It’s been almost a year and a half since I’ve written anything and boy has a lot changed since then. The past year has been nothing short of the cliche roller coaster, filled with its fair share of ups and downs. The first half of 2014 was a steady, flat line of what seemed to be nothingness. I can’t say it was a low, because in the grand scheme of things, nothing was truly bad. Nonetheless, there wasn’t much to celebrate, few emotions were felt, and overall it was a sad period where the hours turned into days and all of the months just seemed to blend into one another. With the onset of spring began new relationships and new experiences, many of which I hope to elaborate on in future posts (fingers crossed). I suppose we can relate that to the steady incline of a rollercoaster: slow and anxiety inducing, but nevertheless exciting. As the cart of the roller coaster continued to inch upward, the impending drop lay ahead and the past few months have proven to be akin to the initial steep, rapid drop of a roller coaster. Filled with sleepless nights, anxiety, anger, frustration, and depression, the past few months have indubitably proved themselves to be some of the most trying in my life. In addition to battling several personal issues and family problems, I’ve very recently experienced the death of a close friend; it’s proving a lot more difficult than I had expected, but in an effort to ring in the new year on a brighter note, I hope that I can take all of these negatives and develop them into learning experiences that I can reference should I encounter similar issues in the future. Overall, this has been one of the most emotionally draining years of my life and maybe some self reflection is necessary in order to figure out just how and where I went wrong. Here’s to hoping that I can do a lot more of that in 2015 in an attempt to figure out who I am and who I hope to become (who am I kidding here).

Honestly, I can’t place with certainty what brought me back to this blog today or why I’m even entertaining the idea of restarting it, but hey, everyone deserves a second chance, right? I can’t say I agree with that statement at all, and yet here I am, giving this whole writing thing another go. Who knows, maybe this is just what I need, a second chance for myself (and if not, at least I’ll have a written account my thoughts and experiences).

Leave a Reply

